Say no to the pants

Top: ModCloth
Pants: J. Crew
Sandals: J. Crew
Necklace: Picky Girl

Okay, that’s it, these pants are going on gone.

I love the color–and that’s encouraged me to keep hanging on to them for over ten years (ten years!!!)–but the fit, the length, and the back flippy-pockets (which you can’t see) have tipped me over the edge from indecision. Being able to see myself in full-length photos helped me to finally make this decision. They’re tight in the wrong places, loose in other place, and while they’re cropped, they stop at the wrong point on my leg. But never fear! I will doubtless be adding colorful corduroys or jeans to my shopping list for fall!

Anyway, about the outfit. I thought it would be fun to pair two bright colors with a funky necklace, and I was right! The color combination is fun and playful, and I think the necklace adds some extra kick. But the style of the pants is a little too preppy for the look, and clearly I’m not psyched about the fit. Still, I like the idea–I’ll be trying again with a look like this before fall ends.

Today’s lesson learned: It’s okay to take risks! And also, it’s okay to part with a piece of clothing that’s been in my closet for so long. These pants have accompanied me since my sophomore year of high school–1999!–and there’s some nostalgia that unquestionably goes along with tossing out one of the oldest items in my closet. But no more. We’ve had a good run, pink pants! Hopefully you will live on happily in someone else’s closet.

One thought on “Say no to the pants

  1. Pingback: The big number 30 | in a cinch

Leave a Reply

