Shirtdress revisited

Dress: Anthropologie
Tights: (I can’t remember!)
Belt: ModCloth
Boots: Corso Como

The last time I wore this dress, I thought perhaps the leggings were a little too dark, so when I remixed it this time around, I wore my grey tights instead of the darker leggings. I have to say, I think the switch is a positive one. It’s been getting cooler here in Minneapolis, with a nip of fall in the air,  so adding boots and a matching belt felt like a natural step to transition this dress from summer to fall. Had it been just a touch cooler, I would have added my navy cardigan for warmth–or maybe just a chunky wool scarf? Something in me still doesn’t quite want to cover my arms.

Either way, I like the shirtdress better this time around. Hooray! Does this mean I’m learning?! It doesn’t look like an entirely different dress, but I do feel like it looks more intentional somehow, as if I actually thought about what I was going to wear, rather than just putting on whatever I grabbed from my closet (which is what I used to do before this blog). Thus, today’s lesson learned: being thoughtful about what I’m wearing, even just making a few small changes, can entirely change the look and feel of just one article of clothing.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Shirtdress revisited

  1. Pingback: My lessons learned | in a cinch

Leave a Reply

