Reigning in the empire

Dress: J. Crew, 3 years old
Scarf: Fair Trade Artisan scarf, artist unknown
Belt: J. Crew
Boots: Shoegasm

And just like that, one of my favorite dresses walked into the ring.

I. LOVE. THIS. DRESS. It’s a little ridiculous because it’s just a simple cotton dress, sleeveless with shirred empire-waisting. It was one of the cheapest things I could buy at J. Crew (yes, ON SALE!) as a grad student three years ago, but I bought it, and thank god. It’s super bright (how can you NOT smile while wearing something this bright?), super light, and I can probably only wear it for about three more weeks until the summer plummets away into crisp temps and dry leaves.

It also follows one of my favorite rules for cute dresses: it’s the easiest outfit ever! Just throw it on and go. Bada boom.

Today’s lesson learned: Don’t be afraid of cinching an empire waist. I worried it would look awkward, but am happy with the result of this outfit. Have you ever belted a dress with an empire waist?

2 thoughts on “Reigning in the empire

  1. Pingback: Transitional wear | in a cinch

  2. Pingback: My lessons learned | in a cinch

Leave a Reply

