Compliment in earnest

Tee: Gap Outlet
Skirt: Ann Taylor Loft, many years ago
Belt: ModCloth
Boots: Shoegasm
Necklace: J. Crew
Earrings: Local Artist
Glasses: Boutique in Durango, CO

 Readers, not every item in this 30 for 30 challenge was chosen because it was among my  favorite clothes. Not only did I try to think about clothing that would mix and match well, I also tried to pick clothes that could be worn both for work or play.

This skirt is an example of something that I don’t love, but I keep it around because it’s comfortable, versatile, and I tend to get a lot of compliments on it. I never knew why–I always thought it looked a little too feminine and clung to all the bits I didn’t want showcased. But after all these years with this skirt in my closet, upon seeing these photos, I think I’m starting to get it. I like how it hits just below the knee, and while it’s feminine, wearing it with boots tends to add some contrast and interest to the outfit.

Today’s lesson learned: Trust your friends when they tell you something is flattering on you. And as friends: don’t lie, but do give earnest compliments openly and often.

One thought on “Compliment in earnest

Leave a Reply

