Swapping gold for cognac

Dress and Belt: Gap
Necklace and Blazer: J. Crew
Bag and Sandals: Thrifted
Earrings: Anthropologie

Last night Mandi and I went for a little walk at the lake (I’ll be sharing photos with you later today!) for our “photoshoot”. Are you all aware that Minneapolis is the “City of Lakes”? Summers here are so fleeting and so lovely, and with over 20 lakes, Minneapolitans really get out on summer evenings. It’s already returned to the 70s and cool at night, with some hints of fall around the edges in late summer. Don’t tell anyone, but I’m starting to crave chunky wool sweaters, mugs of hot apple cider, and crunchy leaves on the ground.

Such idyllic weather is very much what allows me to wear a blazer in mid-August and not even break a sweat! The blazer is new, a gift for my birthday, and I love how the cuffs roll up and feel a little more casual. I tried to play off the gold buttons and accent with gold accessories… were I to remix this outfit, though, I might rid it of the gold accents and switch it to a cognac belt instead, skip the necklace, and wear my boots. Choices, choices!

Today’s lesson learned: an evening walk with a good friend makes awkward public photoshooting SO MUCH MORE BEARABLE.

One thought on “Swapping gold for cognac

  1. Pingback: A windy chambray day | in a cinch

Leave a Reply

